SINGAPORE– The rapid transit system (RTS) is the highlight of the Eighth Malaysia-Singapore Leaders’ Retreat, beginning Tuesday.

Prime Minister Najib Tun Razak and his Singaporean counterpart, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong will witness the signing of the RTS bilateral agreement during the retreat.

Najib, who will be leading the Malaysian delegation to the retreat, is expected to arrive Monday.

Malaysia’s High Commissioner to Singapore, Zulkifli Adnan said apart from that, both leaders would also witness the memorandum of understanding (MoU) on educational cooperation between the countries.

“Apart from RTS, High Speed Rail (HSR) will be among the important issues to be discussed. Both parties will look at various initiatives which have been discussed to address congestion at the Causeway and Tuas while waiting for the completion of RTS and HSR in 2024 and 2026, respectively,” he told Malaysian reporters at the Malaysian High Commission here Sunday.

Both countries were looking at proposals among others, to disperse ways of getting across between Johor-Singapore for travellers, he said.

Among the proposals are to have dedicated walkway for pedestrians from both countries as well as increasing train and ferry frequencies.

Zulkifli said the delegations from both parties would also expect to discuss further on the 1962 Water Agreement, particularly in ensuring adequate water supply to Singapore from Johor’s Linggiu Water Reservoir.

On Monday, Najib is expected to pay a courtesy call on Singapore President Halimah Yacob at the Istana.

Later in evening, Najib and Lee are expected to officially open M S developments – Marina One and DUO.

The second day will begin with a four-eye meeting between the two leaders followed by a delegation meeting to be held at the Istana.

The signing of both documents (bilateral agreements on RTS and MOU on educational cooperation) are expected to be signed after the delegation meeting.

Najib and delegation will then meet with the Malaysian community in Singapore for a high tea session before departing for Kuala Lumpur later in the day.

Among those in the Malaysian delegation include Johor Menteri Besar (Chief Minister) Mohamed Khaled Nordin, Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Abdul Rahman Dahlan, Education Minister Mahdzir Khalid, Foreign Minister Anifah Aman, International Trade and Industry Minister Mustapa Mohamed and Chief Secretary to the Government, Dr Ali Hamsa.