Ensure Business Environment Remains Attractive For Sarawakians In O&G industry – Gerawat

MIRI: Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) Miri Zone 10 members have urged Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Tun Openg to take appropriate action to ensure that the business environment remains attractive for Sarawakians in the oil and gas industry and its professionals would grow and prosper.

State Legislative Assembly deputy speaker Datuk Gerawat Gala said that new investments in downstream industry and creating more employment and business opportunities would bring much hope for the future of Miri.

The economy of many people in Miri Division is largely dependent on the development of the oil and gas industry since the early 19th century until now.

Due to the slump in the oil and gas industry in recent years, our party members in Miri Division appealed to the Chief Minister and state government to take appropriate measures and actions to curb the economic downturn and to prevent traders and local workers from losing their sources of income, the Mulu assemblyman said at the opening ceremony of PBB Miri Zone 10 triennial delegates meeting at a leading hotel here on Sunday.

The meeting was officiated at by Abang Johari who is also PBB president.

Today’s ceremony is also one of our preparations for the 14th General Election where we as the Sarawak Barisan Nasional (BN) backbone party aim to win brilliant victories to strengthen our position in BN at state and national levels, said Gerawat who is also the Zone 10 coordinator.

Gerawat pointed out that the event was also to provide a platform for the delegates to listen to the party president regarding the party’s preparation to face the general election.

At the event, Gerawat also conveyed the wishes and unanimous decisions made by PBB Zone 10 members to the chief minister and the party’s senior leaders.

Among them include the members’ full support of the leadership of their president, who is also the chief minister.

We fully support the decision of the party’s Supreme Council (MKT) to retain Abang Johari as PBB president without contest in the upcoming party convention.

In addition, we also fully support the decision of our party’s MKT for both current deputy presidents of the party to retain their post without contest and the post of women and youth wing chiefs not to be contested, he said.

About 1,200 people consisting of Supreme Council members, exco members, party members and observers from eight PBB Zone 10 branches, namely Bekenu, Lambir, Piasau, Pujut, Senadin, Marudi, Telang Usan and Mulu, attended the event.

PBB deputy presidents Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas and Datuk Amar Awang Tengah Ali Hasan, secretary-general Dato Sri Dr Stephen Rundi Utom, permanent chairman Datuk Amar Asfia Awang Nassar, PBB Women deputy chief Datuk Fatimah Abdullah and PBB vice-president Datuk Talib Zulpilip, Sibuti MP Datuk Ahmad Lai Bujang and community leaders were among those present

Source: The Borneo Post