2,433 school cooperatives across country registered up to June 2019

KUALA LUMPUR, A total of 2,433 school cooperatives across the country with a membership of 1.6 million involving students and teachers have been registered as of June 30, 2019, said Angkatan Koperasi Kebangsaan Malaysia Berhad (Angkasa) president Datuk Abdul Fattah Abdullah.

He said the department estimated there are still about 700,000 students and teachers who have yet to register as members of the school’s cooperatives.

“We hope they will all become members. We aim for all students and secondary school teachers to be members of their respective school cooperatives to make Malaysia one of the Best Entrepreneurial Countries,” he said.

He said this to Bernama after attending the 2019 National Cooperative School Excellence Awards (AKKS) ceremony here today, officiated by Cooperative Commission of Malaysia (SKM) executive chairman Datuk Nordin Salleh.

Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad at the launch of the National Entrepreneurship Policy (DKN) 2030 on July 11, emphasised the importance of national entrepreneurship as a pillar of entrepreneurial empowerment in mobilising the national economy and was confident that Malaysia can achieve the goals of the Best Entrepreneurial Country by 2030 through the DKN2030 plan.

Abdul Fattah said that as of December 2018, school cooperatives across the country have contributed RM400.5 million in revenue, and this proved that school cooperatives have the potential to make a significant contribution to the community as well as generate high quality and skilled human capital.

Earlier, during the awards ceremony, various awards were presented to celebrate the contributions and efforts of the school in managing their school cooperatives, including School Cooperative Chairman Award – Datin Nuinda Alias of the Koperasi Maktab Sabah Berhad, Best School Co-operative Teacher Award – Nik Mohd Zaini Nik Ab Majid of Kolej Vokasional Tanah Merah Berhad, Kelantan, Best Cooperative Award (Student Category) – Imad Hassan Basri Abdul Halim from Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan Sultan Badlishah Kulim Kedah Berhad and 2019 National Level Best Cooperative Award – SMK Sultan Badlishah Kulim Kedah Berhad.

Source: BERNAMA (News Agency)