10 PBTs recieve ASEAN Clean Tourist City Standard Award 2022-2024

KUALA LUMPUR, March 7 –Ten local authorities (PBTs) received the ASEAN Clean Tourist City Standard Awards 2022-2024 through the ASEAN Travel Awards 2022.

Tourism, Arts and Culture Minister Datuk Seri Nancy Shukri said of the total three were ASEAN level awards and seven were national level awards.

“The ASEAN-level award recipients are Penang Island City Council, Muar Municipal Council and Langkawi Municipal Council Tourism City.

“Meanwhile, Putrajaya Corporation, South Kuching City Council, Kuantan City Council and Miri City Council won the national level awards,” she said through a video recording before officiating the ceremony today.

Also receiving the national-level awards were Terengganu City Council, North Kuching City Hall and Sibu Municipal Council.

Meanwhile, Nancy said,14 Malaysian recipients obtained the highest marks to receive awards at the ASEAN level through four categories at the ASEAN Tourism Standards Awards Ceremony 2022-2024 which took place in Cambodia last January.

According to Nancy, earlier 29 of the 56 nominations received by MOTAC had passed the minimum eligibility requirements to receive an award for each participation category.

“However, due to quota constraints set by the ASEAN Secretariat, some have not had the opportunity to receive this award at the ASEAN level.

“As such, MOTAC has taken the initiative to organise this event at the national level in an effort to recognise tourism industry players who have met the ASEAN standard requirements,” she said.

Apart from these categories, MOTAC also awarded the remaining 19 recipients under the ASEAN Green Hotel Standard, ASEAN Sustainable Tourism Standard and ASEAN MICE Venue Standard categories for both ASEAN and national levels.

MOTAC deputy secretary-general (Tourism) Mohd Zamri Mat Zain presented the award on behalf of Nancy who is currently in Johor on official duty.

Source: BERNAMA News Agency