Dewan Rakyat News In Brief: March 9

KUALA LUMPUR — The Education Ministry has identified 1,821 school sites that have not been transferred to the Federal Land Commissioner (PTP), said Deputy Education Minister II Datuk Mohamad Alamin.

He said of the total, 587 school sites in Sarawak were identified for the ownership process to PTP.

“(According to) the guidelines of the 12th Malaysia Plan (12MP) 2021-2025 issued by the Prime Minister’s Department, any school site that does not yet have PTP ownership status, the implementation of development projects cannot be considered by central agencies.

“The ministry is committed to ensuring that all school sites are converted to PTP ownership by acquiring sites in accordance with the conditions set by the Federal Department of Lands and Mines and the state government,” he said when answering a question from Anyi Ngau (GPS-Baram) at the Dewan Rakyat sitting today.

The MP wanted to know the number of school sites that have not been listed in the PTP, especially in Sarawak and throughout the country as well as the implications and action of the ministry if the school sites are not in the PTP list.

Source: BERNAMA News Agency